Federgraph Tutorial

Info

  • This is the user manual for the original version.
  • Version 1.0 was created in August 2013.
  • Text was shortened in January 2015.
  • Technical progress since is considerable. ;-)
  • So the documentation is in need of a new format.

Screenshot

Federgraph

Imagine you sit in front of an oscilloscope and want to view a signal. First of all you need to make sure a decent signal is coming in from outside, then you would probably manipulate some rotary switches and knobs, so that the interesting spot in the signal stabilizes and you see it in full size on the small screen. You would need a bit of practice with the specific device, even if you know how to operate oscilloscopes.

As a specialized function plotter the version of Federgraph for iPad does not have any rotary knobs, but will respond 'somehow' to fingers touching the screen. The 'signals' are built in, though these could potentially come from the outside no problem.

When rotary knobs are mentioned in the following paragraphs, please don't search for them. I just try my best to express things in plain English, which is foreign language enough for me.

Tutorial legend

The legend has been moved out of the way. (Read it only if you are fully awake or need some sleep soon.)

Tutorial steps

Federgraph

  1. Rotate graph around x and y axis with MouseMove in the center of the screen.
  2. Rotate around z-axis with horizontal MouseMove over top [TouchBar].
  3. Zoom in and out with horizontal MouseMove over bottom [TouchBar].
  4. Navigate to another sample with [S+], [S-], [H+] and [H-].
  5. Toggle between resolutions [64] and [128].
  6. Alter the coloring of the graph (texture) with the help of buttons [b+] and [b-].
  7. Test effect of button [b].
  8. Try the different color schemes with [c-] and [c+].
  9. Switch display of text off and on with [txt].
  10. Use ToolButton and OptionBar on the top.
  11. Choose parameter [t1], which moves the texture in z-direction.
  12. Change the parameter with the left [TouchBar] (step width +1/-1).
  13. Change the parameter with the right [TouchBar] (step width +10/-10).
  14. Find and watch the textual display for the value of the current parameter while you change it with a [TouchBar].
  15. Select [t2], the width of the texture, as current parameter and change it.
  16. Navigate to sample 2 (HU=0, SA=2).
  17. Navigate back to sample 1 (HU=0, SA=1). Note that the resolution falls back to the value of 64. You can select [128] at any time, then the graph may look better, but the calculation will definitely become slower.
  18. Make plot [P4] the current plot and parameter [L] the current parameter. Change the value of L (all length) with left and right [TouchBar].
  19. Change other parameters as you like.
  20. Try out an Animation. Define two sets of state with [M1] and [M2] on the TransitBar first, then start the transition with [TR]. Animations will play a bigger role in a future version, when the remote control feature will be included in the touch screen SKU.
  21. Point the resolution to [512] before you make a screenshot. To generate a screenshot on iPad press the home button and the sleep/wake button simultaneously. Your screenshot will end up in the camera roll.
  22. Use [Copy] to save the status of a picture via the clipboard in text format. You could also use [Share] to save the text. It will enable you to recreate the picture later when you put the text into the clipboard again and click [Paste].

Summary

This should be enough for a first step tutorial. You don't need to know more in order to create colorful images. The explanation of special situations and the use of additional features could fill a blog. I would certainly like to see the images you create and share. There is an almost endless amount of 'work' to do!

As to the underlying physics: You may want to read the old chapter on 'zentrale Kräftegruppe' again. The sum of all forces is always zero, this is valid also for the sum of component vectors in any given direction. At the relative low resolution of [64] Federgraph will compute a 'central force group' 64x64=4096 times and assemble a picture from the results. This will happen within a few milliseconds so it may just be meeting 'click speed operation' requirements. When operated at a resolution of [1024] the whole thing will take a few seconds. (Try to determine how many central force groups Federgraph will process during this time, before you go on to save the outcome in the Art folder.)

In terms of math, the equations for the computation of the physical model lead to polynomials. Everything about polynomials should be well known already. But when it comes to the many different images defined by these polynomials, it is quite easy to discover new things no one has seen before. Federgraph has found an interesting spot and will explore it one animation at a time.

Using the Federgraph application, the physical and mathematical aspects are only present in the background, while the artistic aspect, the sculpture work and the coloring, comes to the foreground. Now it gets hard, manual work everywhere, as is appropriate when making real pieces of art. The more skilled you are, the better your chances that your work may be listed high where it matters!

Outlook

Version 1.0 is not the last version of the App. An important addition is the network function which enables remote control.

Federgraph Tutorial

Betreff

  • Bedienungsanleitung für die ursprüngliche Version.
  • Text für Version 1.0 erstellt im August 2013.
  • Wesentlich gekürzt im Januar 2015.
  • Der technische Fortschritt ist beachtlich. ;-)
  • Die Dokumentation des aktuellen Programms erfordert ein neues Format...

Foto

Federgraph

Stellen Sie sich vor Sie sitzen vor einem Oszilloskop und wollen sich ein Signal ansehen. Dann müssen Sie erstmal dafür sorgen, dass ein vernünftiges Signal anliegt, and außerdem an 'irgendwelchen Drehschaltern und Reglern' drehen, damit Sie die interessante Stelle im Signal stabil in voller Größe auf dem Bildschirm sehen. Das braucht immer etwas Übung.

Die Version von Federgraph für iPad hat als spezieller Funktionsplotter keine Drehschalter, sondern wird über den Touchscreen bedient. Die 'Signale' sind fest eingebaut, obwohl diese im Prinzip auch von außen kommen könnten.

Wenn nachfolgend von Drehschaltern die Rede ist, dann suchen Sie bitte nicht nach Drehschaltern. Ich versuche damit nur, mich verständlich auszudrücken. Irgendjemand muss es ja vom deutschen Fachchinesisch ins chinesische Fachchinesisch übersetzen.

Legende

Die Legende wurde ausgelagert.

Tutorial Steps

Federgraph

  1. Drehen Sie die Grafik um zwei Achsen mit MouseMove in der Mitte.
  2. Drehen Sie um die dritte Achse mit einem horizontalen MouseMove über dem [TouchBar] oben.
  3. Zoomen Sie ein und aus mit horizontalem MouseMove über dem [TouchBar] unten.
  4. Navigieren Sie zu einem anderen Sample mit [S+], [S-], [H+] und [H-].
  5. Wechseln Sie zwischen den Auflösungen [64] und [128].
  6. Ändern Sie die Einfärbung der Grafik (Textur) mit Hilfe der Schaltflächen [b+] und [b-].
  7. Testen Sie die Wirkung von [b].
  8. Probieren Sie verschiedene Farbschemata mit [c-] und [c+].
  9. Schalten Sie den Text an und aus mit [txt] rechts unten.
  10. Benutzen Sie den ToolButton und den OptionBar oben.
  11. Wählen Sie den Parameter [t1], die Lage der Einfärbung der Grafik.
  12. Verändern Sie den Parameter mit Hilfe des vertikalen [TouchBar] links (Schrittweite +1/-1).
  13. Verändern Sie den Parameter mit Hilfe des vertikalen [TouchBar] rechts (Schrittweite +10/-10). Streichen Sie ganz langsame über den vertikalen TouchBar, um beste Ergebnisse zu erzielen.
  14. Finden und beobachten Sie die Textanzeige für den Wert des aktuellen Parameters während Sie diesen mit dem [TouchBar] verändern.
  15. Wählen und verändern Sie den Parameter [t2], die Breite der Textur.
  16. Navigieren Sie zu Sample 2, HU=0 SA=2.
  17. Navigieren Sie zurück zu Sample 1, HU=0 SA=1. Beachten Sie, dass die Auflösung automatisch auf 64 zurückgestellt wird. Sie können jederzeit auf [128] wechseln, dann sieht es eventuell besser aus, die Berechnung wird aber langsamer.
  18. Stellen Sie Plot [P4] und Parameter [L] ein. Verändern sie Parameter L (Federlängen) mit dem [TouchBar] links oder rechts.
  19. Verändern Sie andere Parameter nach Belieben.
  20. Versuchen Sie eine Animation, indem Sie mit Hilfe von [M1] und [M2] im TransitBar zwei Zuständen festhalten, und dann mit [TR] den Übergang starten. Animationen werden in zukünftigen Versionen eine größere Rolle spielen, insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit der Fernsteuerung des Modells.
  21. Stellen Sie die Auflösung auf [512] bevor Sie einen Screenshot machen. Auf dem iPad können Sie einen Screenshot erzeugen, indem Sie den Home Button und die Ein/Aus Taste gleichzeitig drücken. Der Screenshot landet dann bei Photos.
  22. Sichern Sie sich den Status des aktuellen Bildes mit [Copy] über die Zwischenablage oder mit [Share] als Text. Damit können die Bilder später reproduziert werden, indem Sie den Text mit [Paste] einfügen.

Zusammenfassung

Das sollte für ein einführendes Tutorial genügen. Mehr müssen Sie nicht wissen, um mit Federgraph bunte Bilder zu gestalten. Die Erläuterung von speziellen Situationen und die Verwendung von zusätzlichen Features soll später im Blog nachgeholt werden. Es gibt 'Arbeit' ohne Ende, ich habe jedenfalls nichts dagegen wenn Sie mitmachen.

Was die Physik anbetrifft: Bei Bedarf sollten Sie sich das Kapitel über die zentrale Kräftegrupe nochmal ansehen. Die Summe aller Kräfte ist immer Null, das gilt auch für die Summe der Komponenten in beliebiger Richtung. Bei der relativ geringen Auflösung von [64] wird Federgraph 64x64=4096 zentrale Kräftegruppen berechnen und daraus ein Bild zusammensetzen. Das Ganze dauert nur wenige Millisekunden und geht gerade noch unter dem Begriff Klickspeed durch. Bei einer Auflösung von [1024] dauert es einige Sekunden. (Versuchen Sie in dieser Zeit auszurechnen, wieviele zentrale Kräftegruppen Federgraph berechnet, bevor Sie einen Screenshot im Ordner Kunst abspeichern.)

Die Gleichungen für die Berechnung des physikalischen Modells können theoretisch in einer einzelnen Formel zusammengefasst werden. Praktisch ist das mit einem Mathematikprogramm (Computer Algebra System, CAS) sinnvoll durchführbar. Im Quelltextes von Federgraph ist die 'Formel' dagegen nur als Folge von einzelnen Anweisungen enthalten, welche aber leicht nachvollziehbar sind. Bezogen auf die Vielfalt der Bilder, welche die Formel hervorbringt, gibt es noch reichlich neue Dinge zu entdecken. Federgraph hat eine interessante Stelle gefunden und tastet sich langsam vor.

Während der physikalische Aspekt bei der Benutzung der Applikation in den Hintergrund tritt, kommt der künstlerische Aspekt, die Form- und Farbgebung, in den Vordergrund. Hier ist noch echte Handarbeit notwendig, wie es sich für Kunstwerke gehört.

Ausblick

Version 1.0 ist nur die erste und nicht die letzte Version. Eine wichtige Ergänzung ist die Netzwerkfunktion, die eine Fernsteuerung ermöglicht.